Is Chocolate Gluten Free?

Gluten. For many years it was not something that was a focus, neither by manufacturers, cooks or consumers. As science and nutrition have become more advanced, gluten has arrived center stage and for those with allergies or a complete intolerance to it, this progress has resulted in education about their sensitivities and enormous improvements in their wellbeing.

But, what if a person who can’t have gluten and loves chocolate? Is dark chocolate gluten free? Milk chocolate? White?

The news is good! 

Chocolate in its purest form, whether it be dark chocolate, milk chocolate, or white chocolate is all gluten free. This shouldn’t suggest that everything you’ll find on grocery store or specialty shop shelves is gluten free, but it does mean that there are a lot of options out there that do not contain the dreaded gluten.

How do you know what chocolate is gluten free? Reading labels is key to getting information regarding the inclusion of gluten. By definition, something is gluten free if it contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Labels will tell you if it is a gluten free product, but you can also look to the nutrition facts label which will tell you if the product contains wheat, barley or any other glutenous ingredients.

Quality chocolate manufacturing is also a clue to a gluten free chocolate bar or gluten free candy. When the roasted cacao beans are the star of the chocolate and then the ingredients used to make the candy are only cocoa powder, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, sugar and maybe milk or cream for milk chocolate, the chocolate will be gluten free. Due to the freshness of the ingredients, quality chocolate must be stored appropriately. It is often additives outside of the essential elements used in the manufacturing process, such as emulsifiers and flavoring, that include gluten. While there are few vegan chocolates because of the inclusion of milk and cream, this does not imply that the chocolate contains gluten, as gluten and dairy are two separate potential allergens.

Many of Vosges’ collections and bars are gluten free products. Pure chocolate has been blended with ingredients from around the world to create chocolates that are so decadent and delicious they don’t need any of that pesky gluten!

Exotic Truffle Collection

Starting with the beginning and heart of our company, our Exotic Truffle Collection is a perfect introduction to Vosges for someone practicing a gluten free diet.

​​Our signature collection and best-selling gift is inspired by Katrina’s travels around the world just after culinary school at Le Cordon Bleu in Paris. Our proprietary blend of pure chocolate, exotic spices, herbs, roots and botanicals are sourced for their superior qualities from her journeys around the world. Each truffle collection includes an enclosure book with guided tasting notes, ingredient sourcing details and experiential truffle stories and pairings.

Comfort Food Tower

Comfort requires no gluten and our Comfort Food Tower is proof of this. Each ingredient of the finest quality: peanut butter, toffee and marshmallows join forces for this indulgent gift.

A luxurious twist on the classic comfort foods that everyone loves to indulge in. Fluffy caramel marshmallows, crunchy caramel toffee and rich peanut butter bonbons are stacked and tied together with our signature purple ribbon.

Exotic Caramel Collection

Another classic collection, the Exotic Caramel Collection, is gluten free, but full of luscious parfums.

Inside this chocolate caramel gift box lies pure, butter-soft caramels infused with parfums of Brazil nuts, hibiscus, blood oranges and other delectable fruits, nuts and spices. These bites offer a contrast between sweet and tart, nutty and citrusy. Part comfort, part couture, this is a unique gift that even the most finicky of recipients will adore.

We love offering all of these flavors and candies free of gluten, additives and preservatives. We are committed to always seeking new ways to make luxury chocolates that enhance health and wellness and will continue to add options as often as we can. For all of our current offerings of gluten free food, including our new Pure Plant Chocolate Bars, click here